Quotes I Love

book

Been sifting through old journals filled with quotes I love. I kept a copy of this quote above my desk for years. It truly comforted & inspired me.

“Discontent is at the root of the creative process: the most gifted members of the human species are at their creative best when they cannot have their way.”

–Eric Hoffer

And then there’s this pretty thing. I’m always thinking about how imagery carries us forward, and that’s something I strive to achieve in my work.

“We go to the writing of the marvelous, and to children’s books, for stories, certainly, and for the epic possibilities of good and evil in confrontation, not yet so mixed as they are in life. But we go, above all, for imagery: it is the force of imagery that carries us forward. We have a longing for inexplicable sublime imagery, and particularly for inexplicable sublime imagery that involves the collision of the urban and the natural, the city and the sea.”

–Adam Gopnick

And Pico Iyer:

“I travel in order to be defeated, to find places that I never leave behind, to be taken from one question to the next, and then to a deeper question…”

Then finally, The Boss:

“You can’t start a fire without a spark. This gun’s for hire, even if it’s just dancing in the dark.”

–Bruce Springsteen

One thought on “Quotes I Love

Leave a Reply

