If I ventured in the slipstream…

DSCF5081

If I ventured in the slipstream
Between the viaducts of your dream
Where mobile steel rims crack
And the ditch in the back roads stop

Could you find me?
Would you kiss-a my eyes?
To lay me down in silence easy
To be born again, to be born again…

–Van Morrison, Astral Weeks

NPR’s All Things Considered recently interviewed Van Morrison about his epic album, “Astral Weeks.” I got to play the promo a ton on my on-air shift, and every time I heard it I got so psyched. I think that excitement boils down to two things: all the good memories I associate with this album (my dad loving Van Morrison, my old flame loving Van Morrison, driving around California wine country with said love, blasting these songs…); and the energy and clarity and vulnerability these songs contain.

I kept wondering how NPR managed to snag Van Morrison, who is famous for denying interviews.

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=111712776

In the interview, NPR’s Guy Raz says, “This album changed my life.” And his voice gets all tender and magical. Good to hear the realness coming through (although Van Morrison does kind of blow him off.)

Meanwhile all I can do is blast “Astral Weeks” from my car speakers…

2 thoughts on “If I ventured in the slipstream…

Leave a Reply

