Losing A Gem

I’ve never take classes or hung out at the Smart Shop Metal Arts Center in Kalamazoo. But I got to meet the center’s founder, Holly Fisher, and get a tour of the space. The place reminded me of my junior high shop class–a place I loved and a place that simmered with the potential of creating real things out of wood and metal, with my own two hands.

But more than just a shop, this place was colored alive with the the energy & vision of its founder. The walls were painted in clean, bright tones of red and white and green and pink. Funny posters from communist China and other eras hung on the walls.

Smart Shop

If this place were in my town, I def would have enrolled as a student. But that will not happen now, because the Smart Shop has closed it’s doors. That story here…

http://www.publicbroadcasting.net/michigan/arts.artsmain?action=viewArticle&id=1659933&pid=144&sid=9

Meanwhile here’s a piece of art by longtime Smart Shop student Kathy Kreager.

Windsong by Kathy Kreager, photo by Carolyn Fink
Leave a Reply

