Hometown tune

Band was a pretty magical experience for me as a kid. I grew up in a small town that imposed pretty narrow ideas about who you could become. You know, boys were football players and girls were cheerleaders and God forbid you tried to break out of those two little boxes.

InstrumentFitting

But band and music and theater and the arts switched up the game and spoke to my little artistic heart while showing me some other options for who I could become.

http://www.npr.org/2015/06/20/415973906/store-helps-students-find-the-right-instrumental-fit

So I started with that personal experience & began thinking more broadly when trying to come up with a potential radio story about the arts (a topic I cover for Michigan Radio). I was also in touch with an old childhood friend whose husband runs the local music shop in our hometown, and thus, this story about kids trying to find their “instrument match.”

Not sure if it comes through in the audio version, but the relationship that developed between the girls and the instructor was really quite darling.

Leave a Reply

